Save up to 50% on your Car Insurance
See how affordable remarkable customer service can be.
100% secure. We respect your privacy.
Home » Car Insurance » Cheap Car Insurance Texas

Car Insurance in Texas

Lowest Premium

$285 / YEAR

Average Premium

$564 / YEAR

Highest Premium

$1207 / YEAR

50/100/50 (minimum liability) ⓘ How the premiums are calculated

The average annual premium in Texas is around $564 and can go up to $1207. This is for a 30-year-old female buying 50/100/50 coverage which is considered as the minimum liability.

According to the Insurance Information Institute, the average expenditure on car insurance in Texas state during 2016 was around $1009. But it doesn't give an idea of how much it will cost you. Car insurance premium depends on how much coverage you choose, and discounts that apply to your insurance plan.

Best Car Insurance Companies in Texas

According to Texas Department Insurance, the top 5 auto insurance companies are State Farm, Progressive, GEICO, Farmers, and Allstate. They offer different insurance plans to choose from and the premium amount also varies.

Company Market share Rating
State Farm 15.76% 4.2
Progressive 9.64% 4.3
Geico 8.07% 4.2
Farmers 7.46% 4.5
Allstate 7.43% 4.2
Liberty Mutual 5.46% 4.1
USAA 2.67% 4.4

Companies providing cheaper rates

The average annual car insurance rates from the cheaper and best companies are provided below.

Company Avg. Rate
GEICO $350
Farmers $385
State Farm $390
Allstate $495
Progressive $660

Finding the right car insurance in Texas

It is smarter to choose the right amount of coverages for your car insurance than opting for minimum requirement. This can vary depending on the car make, age and various other factors.

Insurance companies packs the coverages differently. So it is always better to get quotes from different companies to see who offers the best price.

Get a free online quote from different companies which only takes a couple of minutes.

Find affordable car insurance in your city

Texas Car Insurance Minimum Requirement by Law

As per the Department of Public Safety in the state requires a minimum of 30/60/25 as explained below:

  • $30,000 coverage for all types of bodily injury suffered by one individual in one accident
  • Bodily injury suffered by two or more people is $60,000. The amount is the same for deaths of two or more people caused by one accident
  • Damage to property or injury to others in one accident is $25,000.

Main Cities in Texas